SMC rejects Rupafin, Axorid and Depodur

The following drugs have been rejected by the Scottish Medicines Consortium (SMC) for use within NHS Scotland, as a result of absent or insufficient submissions from manufacturers:

  • Rupatadine (Rupafin) for allergic rhinitis and chronic idiopathic urticaria.
  • Ketoprofen/omeprazole (Axorid) for rheumatoid arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis and osteoarthritis in patients with a history or risk of NSAID-associated gastrointestinal ulceration or erosion.
  • Extended-release epidural morphine (Depodur) for relief of post-operative pain following major orthopaedic, abdominal or pelvic surgery.

The drugs may be subject to re-appraisal.

Further information:

Want news like this straight to your inbox?
Sign up for our bulletins

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in